History of the old Rock Mill and the area
Rock Mill Cottage is directly across the street from the historical Rock Mill, a grist mill originally built in 1799 and rebuilt in 1824 after a flood destroyed the original mill. The mill and the covered bidge are now owned by the Fairfield County Historical Parks and will soon be fully operational as a grist mill. According to the Fairfield County Historical Park website, "Rock Mill Park encompasses the historic Rock Mill, a stunning grist mill built in 1824 above the Hocking River Falls and the scenic Rock Mill Covered Bridge, constructed in 1901. Standing 90 feet above the gorge of the falls, Rock Mill stands as a testament to the rich agricultural heritage of Fairfield County, whose “fair fields" attracted so many brave pioneers in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. In the early 1800s Rock Mill was one of a dozen mills in the area whose power source was the Hocking River. The mill was in operation grinding flour and corn into wheat and meal as late at 1905."
It is truly stunning!
Our home, built in 1847 and believed to have been the distillery for the Blue Ball Tavern, is steps away from the cottage.
Lancaster is a small city with large history!
Lancaster was founded in 1800 by Colonel Ebenezer Zane (Zane Trace). General William Tecumseh Sherman, the famous Civil War General, was born in Lancaster, as was his equally famous brother, John Sherman, U.S. Senator, Secretary of the Treasury, Secretary of State, and father of the Sherman AntiTrust Act. More information on Lancaster is available in the cottage.
Enjoy this article about us and the Mill in our local paper.